Manchester U’s “resurgence” wins first title in 6 years! Manchester U beat Newcastle to win the Carabao Cup!


Last Updated on 02/27/2023 by てんしょく飯


The final of the Carabao Cup (EFL Cup) was held on February 26 between Manchester U and Newcastle.



 It was the first chance for both clubs to win the title in a long time.

Manchester U has been without a title since winning the competition and the Europa League (EL) in the 2016-17 season, and will be looking to win the tournament for the first time in six seasons. Newcastle, meanwhile, have not won a title since lifting the FA Cup in the 1954-55 season and are just one win away from their first EFL Cup crown as they reach the final for only the second time in 47 years.


Manchester U is unbeaten in its last nine official matches and is currently on a two-game winning streak, and will head into the “big game” with momentum from its 2-1 comeback win over Barcelona in the second leg of the EL final playoffs on March 23. Newcastle, on the other hand, have won their last three games. In contrast, Newcastle has been without a win in their last three games, with their last victory coming against Southampton in the second leg of the Carabao Cup semifinal on January 31. They will be looking for their first win in four official games since the match in which two goals from Seann Longstaff secured their place in the final.


Manchester U made two changes in the starting lineup from the aforementioned match against Barcelona. Antony, who scored the game-winning goal, and Diogo Dalot return to the starting lineup. Newcastle made three changes from the previous Premier League match against Liverpool. Bruno Guimarães and Callum Wilson return to the starting lineup, as well as Loris Karius in goal. Nick Pope, who was sent off against Liverpool, is suspended for this match. In addition, back-up Martin Dubravka is unavailable for the match, as he was on the pitch for the same competition at Manchester U, where he spent the first half of the season. As a result, Karius, who had not played an official match since February 2021, when he was with Union Berlin, had to defend the goal in the big game.


The game was tense from the outset, as is typical of finals matches, but in the 33rd minute, the game broke out of balance. Manchester U won a free kick on the left side of the penalty area. Luke Shaw sent in a sharp left-footed ball, which Casemiro headed in. Manchester U took the lead from the set piece.


In the 40th minute, Manchester U again took the lead when Wout Wekhorst dribbled forward after connecting with the ball on the left flank. The ball was deflected in and the goalkeeper was able to get on the end of it, but the ball was not able to get past him. The ball deflected and headed in a direction that goalkeeper Karius could not react to. Manchester U went into halftime with a big extra point.


In the second half, Newcastle began to fight back. Joel Ellington and Miguel Almiron created not bad scenes, but could not threaten the goal. In the 73rd minute, Marcel Sabitzer won the ball with a sliding tackle near the center of the pitch and quickly got up to provide a through ball. Rashford reacted by cutting back and aiming with his right foot, but his sharp shot was denied by a good save from goalkeeper Karius.


Newcastle then put their last gasp into the attack, but a goal remained elusive until the very end. The game went to time. Manchester U won the Carabao Cup for the first time in six seasons.



Manchester U 2-0 Newcastle



1-0 33rd minute Casemiro (Manchester U)

2-0 39th minute Sven Botman (OG/Manchester U)


Starting members】

Manchester U (4-2-3-1)

GK:De Hea

DF: Dalot (46 mins. Wan Bissaka), Varane, L. Martinez, Shaw

MF: Fledge (69 mins. Sabitzer), Casemiro; Antony (82 mins. Sancho), B. Fernandez, Rashford (88 mins. Maguire).

FW: Wekhorst (69 mins McTominay).


Newcastle (4-3-3)

GK: Karius

DF: Trippier, Schea, Botman, Byrne

MF: S. Longstaff (46 mins. Isaac), B. Guimarães (78 mins. Murphy), Joelrington

FW: Almiron (90+1 min Ritchie), C. Wilson (90+1 min Anderson), San Maximan (78 min Willock).